r Mountain Times - Lead
  Your Mountain,
 Your Newspaper
· Home ·  Classifieds · Columnists · Events · Gallery · Opinion ·
· Local Links · Story Archives · Tell A Friend · Contact Us ·
Pic of the month

Main Menu
· Home
· Classifieds
· Columnists
· Contact Us
· Event Calendar
· Gallery
· Lead Stories
· Tell A Friend
· View from the mountain

Who's Online
There are currently, 33 guest(s) and 0 Staff Online.

Search for stories containing:
May election returns four to school board posted on 06/02/2017

Randy Carmony and Kurt McKnight defeated their opponents to retain their positions on the Oregon Trail School District’s (OTSD) board of directors in the May election, while three others won uncontested races.

Vote totals through Thursday, May 25 showed McKnight defeating Travis Brewster for the Zone 3 (Welches) position by a vote of 2,507 (70 percent) to 1,097 (30 percent), while Carmony won his race for the Zone 7 (At Large) position with 1,657 (46 percent) votes, compared to 1,297 for Scott Stuart (36 percent) and 621 for Paul Elmore (17 percent).

“It is an honor to be reelected to serve another term on the OTSD board,” Carmony wrote in an email to the Mountain Times. “I take pride in ensuring the district provides the best learning opportunities for all of the students in the district and preparing today's youth for their future following school.”

McKnight noted that he will work to support the district’s theme, “Children Thrive Here,” while adding that there is work to be done to continue improving student outcomes.

“I look forward to continuing the efforts to reposition our career and technical education offerings to better serve the students and business in our community,” McKnight wrote in an email to the Mountain Times. “Being part of a fiscally sound district is something I am very proud of and will continue to help be the best stewards of our tax dollars. At a time when most districts are making cuts and growing class sizes we at OTSD are growing our offerings and staffing from K-12.”

Robert Lee won the Zone 5 (Cottrell/Bull Run), held by retiring board chair Terry Lenchitsky, with 2,517 votes; Marie Teune won the Zone 2 (Boring) with 2,650 votes and Marjan Salveter won the Zone 1 (North Sandy) with 2,646 votes. The Zone 2 position is a two-year term, while all others are four-year terms.

The Oregon School Boards Association noted that according to a survey they conducted, 1,018 individuals ran for school board positions throughout the state, the highest number since 2009. The number of candidates is up from the 817 that ran for school board positions in May, 2015, but this year’s election also saw 68.5 percent of races with just one candidate and another six percent with no candidates.

In other local election news, three positions on the Hoodland Fire District’s board were determined: Ron Partlow was elected to Position 3, Darcy Lais was elected to Position 4 and Cliff Fortune was elected to Position 5. All three races were uncontested and all three positions are four-year terms.

Measure 26-190, a general obligation bond for Mt. Hood Community College, was defeated in Clackamas County by a vote of 3,757 against and 2,740 for the measure, and defeated by an overall vote of 21,108 against to 17,084 for the measure.

Countywide, 55,355 of 271,779 (20.37 percent) registered voters voted in last month’s election.

By Garth Guibord/MT




Valid HTML 4.01!

Valid CSS!

All material ©2008 The Mountain Times and may not be reproduced/distributed in any form without written permission from the publisher.

Web Site Design Precision Artists 
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.